How I am structuring my life like Gilmore Girls?

I absolutely adore Gilmore Girls. They are both powerful and hardworking women who never give up and strive to be the best. I want to model my life like theirs. I am aware of the fact that it is a frictional show (some aspects of their lives are exaggerated and fabricated) and that some of their habits and choices are not the best to take after. Therefore, after thorough research and thinking, I have come with a schedule where I can model my life after Gilmore Girls while being completely rational and healthy.

Parameters of being a Gilmore Girl:

  • Drink a good ol’ cup of coffee. No one fancies a good cup of coffee more than the Gilmore Girls, which is not a bad thing. Coffee comes with many benefits and is considered very good for you if you drink it in moderation. I have discussed the benefits of coffee in my last post. Try to limit the consumption of it to 4 cups (no more than 4 cups please). 
  • Eat what you like but with some consideration. Gilmore girls drown themselves in takeouts (I do not recommend this at all). What I mean by eat what you like is that you can eat what ever you want in a healthy way. Try to opt out of unhealthy ingredients and replace with a healthy one. Healthy food can be tasty too. Do not go on a diet (Gilmore girls would never do that).
  • Talk Fast: Because life is short
  • Try to spend Friday night with your Grandparents. Or at least call them or text them.
  • Get super close to your mother. Watch Gilmore Girls you will know what I mean.
  • Read Read Read. Try to carry a book on you at all times and read vigorously. Have a goal like finish one book per week. Or depending on the length of the book, give yourself a time frame.
  • Have Fun and Talk in References: Watch movies and tv shows . Listen to music.
  • Take your job seriously: Whether it is your school or work, do your best.

Here is my Glimored Schedule (keeping Rory in mind for the most part):

05:30- Wake up; Shower and get dressed. I do wear some makeup, but not a lot. I just wear a good moisturiser, some baby powder, and some chapstick and lip stick.

06:00- Make some coffee and have some breakfast (3 times a week, I go to a local diner for breakfast.) For breakfast, I normally have some eggs and toasts, or smoothie. Somedays, it is oatmeal.

Coffee Cup # 1

06:15- Be at the library. I start my day by reading. I follow the gilmore girls reading list episode by episode chronologically. I read for 2 hours intensely in pomodoro slot (every 25 mins of reading, I take 5 mins of break) I read around 100-150 pages during this course of about 2 hours.

 

08:30- Start officially studying (How I Study like Rory Gilmore? coming soon) I study using the pomodoro technique for the most part. I set my timer with a vibration mode (remember I am at the library) for 25 mins and study with a deep focus for 25 mins. Then, take a five min break. I do four 25-mins-intervals and then I take a 25 mins break. I normally call my mom or go for a walk during the breaks. I do around four 25-mins sessions before lunch. To honest, I get 4 hours of work done in these 2 hours because I am completely focus and energised during these sessions. I have no access to the internet for the most part or any other sort of distractions except the internal ones (I am doing good at controlling them).

Lunch (around 11 or 11:30): I have my lunch during my long break of 25 mins.  I usually bring some lunch from home or make some salad or sandwich at the cafe. Of course, I have a cup of coffee. Also, I do duolingo for around 10-15 mins as well. I am learning French.

Coffee Cup # 2 

After Lunch: I do not have a specific time for my lunch, but approximately around 11:30 or 12:0. After this, I resume my study session and I use the pomodoro technique again. I get about 4 pomodoro sessions done.

13:30 or 14:00- Leave for work (I work because I like to be financially independent. I think if Rory was a real life person, she would definitely work for a few hours each day.) I get some coffee and some fruits or some snacks on the way to work. If I do not get my targeted pomodoros, done, then I do it at work. If I have time, then I work on my blog.

Coffee Cup # 3

15:00- Work (If you get some free time, study. Or read) I do some light review on most days during work. If I have more free time in my hand, then I will do 4 pomodoros. So it really depends on the day and the amount of work we have. Also, the coworkers you are working with that day. I read when I can not focus or when I have time to be productive but I am distracted due to external interruptions. I get 20-30 pages done on an average. Somedays I can get only 5 pages to read while some I can read 50 pages. Again, really depends. I normally get another cup of coffee around 5 or 6 pm.

Coffee Cup: 4

21:00- Watch a movie or show (give yourself a limited amount of time for entertainment. I give myself an hour each day.) Most days I do get the luxury to watch some awesome shows and movies, but somedays I just cannot. But I try to give myself at least an hour to enjoy some virtual entertainment. I usually watch the movie referred on the Gilmore Girls and I tend to go by episode by episode in chronological order. But you can get the access to the list here <https://www.buzzfeed.com/littleraeoflight/gilmore-girls-movie-list-1q5mu?utm_term=.lo8ABaV8Z#.hhe6DE3vP&gt; or you can just go to each episode under gilmorisms and watch it in chronological order (episode by episode). BTW, I have posted all the references from the pilot episode. You can use that as well. I am just going down the list with my books and movies to avoid decision fatigue. I watch a movie or a show without skipping for an hour and then pause it if I am not done and  resume it the next day because you cannot give 2-3 hours everyday to a movie or a show.

22:00- Read. I read for about an hour here. I get around 40-60 pages during this time because this time of the day is very calm and uninterrupted for the most part.

23:00- Take a shower and wash my face. I apply some moisturiser, eye-cream, and lip balm. I go to bed around 11:15 pm.

Total pages read on an average- 150-200. Somedays it is around 250 and somedays hardly 100.

This is how I keep myself productive with loads of school work, reading, walking, talking to my mother, watching shows and movies, drinking coffee, and eating healthy.

 

Love,
Priya

 

 

 

Leave a comment